SGAHPS Scholarship Program

Beginning in 2004, the Spring Grove Area Historical Preservation Society has offered annually a $1,000 scholarship to a deserving Spring Grove Area High School graduating senior pursuing a career in one of the following fields:

  • History/Social Studies
  • Historic/Arts Preservation
  • Museum Curator or Administration

Applicant must have already been accepted at a postsecondary institution he/she plans to attend. The scholarship can be used toward the first year’s tuition, books, laboratory fees, other academic costs, or room and board when the student is housed under control of the institution.

Subject to final approval by the society’s Board of Directors, the scholarship is awarded to the selected winner at the school’s annual Senior Awards Night in late May.  Below, James Miller, chairperson of the Scholarship Committee, presents the 2011 award to Nathan Bahn as his proud parents look on.

Winners since the program’s inception have been:

2004     Hannah E. Rohrbaugh
2005     Denise Hoke
2006    Danielle C. Matthie
2007     Whitney Strausbaugh
2008     Kimberly Moody
2009     Karli Study
2010     Leah Miller
2011     Nathan Bahn
2012     (No applicant in pursuit of designated fields)
2013     (No applicant in pursuit of designated fields)
2014     Kaila McGee

Students interested in applying for the scholarship should contact Mr. Miller by calling the museum any Thursday morning from 8:30 to 11:30 a.m. Phone number to call is (717) 225-0732.  Applications must be submitted by April 15th.


8:30 AM - 11:30 AM

2nd & 4th Sundays:
1:00 PM - 4:00 PM

* Closed holidays

View calendar

Email Signup